Dreaming of Free Time

January, for me, is not the month to start things. In the post-Christmas slump I can’t seem to drag my sorry backside anywhere for fear I’ll be part of the high drop-out rate of newbies in a class. Today I have come over all February-like and I am wondering what to start next.

If my new year’s resolution was not to start something then I suppose the positive opposite is to finish the things I have already started. And there is a long list of shelved projects.

Recently a friend’s circumstances changed. No longer was she tied to the whim of others and chained to the daily drudgery of car trips and family mealtimes. It was a sudden change and she was unsure what to do with this endless amount of time.

She experienced freedom in a way I can only dream about. Up for the ninth night in a row at 4am doling out the medicine in an effort to keep everyone comfortable I pondered this sense of release. What would I do with my time should I be given the space to choose for myself?

In an ideal world (with an ideal self of course) I would go to Iyengar yoga on a Sunday night, a creative writing class on a Monday night, Zumba on a Tuesday, teach myself how to cook using Youtube tutorials on a Wednesday, do some writing on a Thursday, go to the cinema on a Friday (on my own so no compromise on film).

And I’d get sloshed on a Saturday.

I’d also buy a new old Olympus OM-1 35mm camera and get to grips with how to use it properly. I’d attend Local History Society talks. I’d learn Spanish. I’d go cycling. I’d sew dresses from 1960s patterns. I’d make beautiful quilts! I’d go climbing and learn how to ski.

Unfinished Project no.29

Unfinished Project no.29

To say this place isn’t a city there are endless things to do here. The Hebden Bridge Diary http://www.hebdendiary.co.uk is printed out and left in cafes and shops all through the valley. It details a huge amount of the activities available in this area.

I have known people decide to move here on the strength of that piece of paper.

I’ve no idea what is ‘early morning Taize singing’ is, or ‘Nia dancing’ for that matter. I don’t have any desire for ‘Blessingway Pregnancy Yoga’ (although it was lovely at the time I did need it) or archery on a Sunday morning but it is there listed on the diary page should I change my mind.

Going back to thinking about a chance of having a serious amount of free time I should be realistic enough to admit that my idealised week rota wouldn’t get a look in. In reality, I’d probably just manage possibly one regular thing at best.

(Plus the getting sloshed bit).

One thought on “Dreaming of Free Time

Leave a Reply

